MDRC – Early Learning Network
178
qode-quick-links-1.0,ctct-bridge,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,footer_responsive_adv,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-11.0,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive

MDRC

Project Name

Boston P-3: Identifying Malleable Factors for Promoting Student Success

Studies

Policy and Practice Study

Researchers will assess Boston Public School’s prekindergarten through Grade 3 policies and practices as related to student experiences. Variables of interest include instructional content and dosage, teacher practices, instructional approach, school district culture and climate, and attributes of staff, families and students.

Classroom Observation Study

Researchers will address curricular alignment, quality of classroom interactions, teacher characteristics and the quality of language, literacy and math instruction. The researchers will also examine a set of classroom population characteristics (e.g., dual language learners, low-income students).

Longitudinal Study

Researchers will explore how classroom processes and practices, family engagement in learning activities outside of school and afterschool and summer activities relate to children’s developmental skill trajectory and third grade outcomes.

Setting

The research studies will take place in Boston Public Schools community-based PreK programs and early elementary schools in Boston, Massachusetts.

Co-Principal Investigator

About the Team

Personnel

JoAnn Hsueh, Ph.D.

Principal Investigator

JoAnn Hsueh, Ph.D.

MDRC
joann.hsueh@mdrc.org

Biography

Christina Weiland, Ed.D.

Co-Principal Investigator

Christina Weiland, Ed.D.

University of Michigan
weilandc@umich.edu

Biography

Catherine Snow, Ph.D.

Co-Principal Investigator

Catherine Snow, Ph.D.

Harvard University
Catherine_snow@gse.harvard.edu

Biography

Jason Sachs, Ph.D.

Co-Principal Investigator

Jason Sachs, Ph.D.

Boston Public Schools
jsachs@bostonpublicschools.org

Biography

Nonie Lesaux, Ph.D.

Co-Principal Investigator

Nonie Lesaux, Ph.D.

Harvard University
nonie_lesaux@gse.harvard.edu

Biography

Deborah Ball, Ph.D.

Co-Principal Investigator

Deborah Ball, Ph.D.

University of Michigan
dball@umich.edu

Biography

Nicole Leacock

Investigator

Nicole Leacock, MSW

MDRC
nicole.Leacock@mdrc.org

Biography

Michelle-Maier

Investigator

Michelle Maier, PhD

MDRC
michelle.maier@mdrc.org

Biography

Meghan McCormick

Investigator

Meghan McCormick, PhD

MDRC
meghan.mccormick@mdrc.org

Biography